Jamit Software Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
July 05, 2020, 01:58:23 pm

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
May 27th, 2009 - Jamit Software Launches the forum today!
3,080 Posts in 791 Topics by 1,658,459 Members
Latest Member: PasqualeBe
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  Jamit Software Forum
|-+  Jamit Job Board Customers
| |-+  User-to-User Support
| | |-+  Cron bug
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Cron bug  (Read 6589 times)
szabcsee
Jammers
Hero Member
*
Posts: 115


« on: March 30, 2011, 07:29:12 am »

Hi Guys!

My Hourly cron does not work for a reason. I just found now that there was a 4.0 server load limit on the cron and I set it now for No limit but I don't think that was the problem. We really tried everything on the hosting (and the Housekeep works) but no success with the Hourly one.


Last Housekeep run: Wed, 30 Mar 2011 06:39:38 +0000 (run every minute)
Last Hourly run: Sun, 30 Jan 2011 16:05:45 +0000(run every hour)

My job ads do not expire and I have to set the Job and Resume alerts automatically.

Anyone experienced that before?

Thanks.
Logged
jaffri
Jammers
Sr. Member
*
Posts: 51


« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2011, 03:31:38 pm »

Which version are you using?

Have you checked with the hosting support?

Does your hosting environment allow email alerts of cron jobs? If yes, switch it on and see what error does it report.
Logged
szabcsee
Jammers
Hero Member
*
Posts: 115


« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2011, 07:36:27 am »

Hello jaffri

3.5.7

I check the error.
Logged
jaffri
Jammers
Sr. Member
*
Posts: 51


« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2011, 07:45:59 am »

Have you checked with the hosting support?

Where is your website hosted and on which package?

Does your hosting environment allow email alerts of cron jobs? If yes, switch it on and then lete me know what error it reports to you when the cron job does not work correctly.
Logged
szabcsee
Jammers
Hero Member
*
Posts: 115


« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2011, 11:18:07 pm »

Yes I have checked and it seems it runs and do not give back error message. Strange indeed.
Logged
Peter
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 248



« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2011, 01:44:54 am »

...My Hourly cron does not work for a reason. I just found now that there was a 4.0 server load limit on the cron and I set it now for No limit but I don't think that was the problem. We really tried everything on the hosting (and the Housekeep works) but no success with the Hourly one.....

Which plugins are you using (that are enabled)?
Logged

SECURE your site BEFORE you wish you had! Use plugins by COLOSSAL MIND!
szabcsee
Jammers
Hero Member
*
Posts: 115


« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2011, 07:53:46 am »

Hello Peter!

My plugins:

  • Premium posts first
  • Extended Session Length
  • Job description meta tag
  • Stats Box
  • Top Employers
  • Info Pages
  • Currency Update
  • Online Users
  • Redirect to Edit Resume
  • Security Tools
  • Traffic Filter

Do you think something interfere with the cron? Where can I check the tasks in the cron file? Is it in the cron.php?
Logged
Peter
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 248



« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2011, 10:57:13 pm »

Did your cron job ever run successfully on this server? Or never?

For example, on my server, setting up cron job is a real pain and I never succeeded, so I am using workarounds (emulated cron).
Logged

SECURE your site BEFORE you wish you had! Use plugins by COLOSSAL MIND!
szabcsee
Jammers
Hero Member
*
Posts: 115


« Reply #8 on: April 09, 2011, 11:53:59 am »

I used emulated cron (i think until end of January, last successful run was 30th of January) and it made my site sooo slow. It was really bad.

The (real) cron never ran successfully on this server.

I don't know if it can be something with the hourly cron settings in the cron file. Coz I stopped the emulated cron because we discovered that something with it caused the huge lag on the site.



Logged
szabcsee
Jammers
Hero Member
*
Posts: 115


« Reply #9 on: April 12, 2011, 10:13:53 am »

Peter do you know where can I find the hourly cron's tasks and what should be in that file? (btw I use 3.5.7 Jamit)

Thanks for your help.
Logged
Amjad
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 109


« Reply #10 on: April 12, 2011, 04:38:23 pm »

you have to set it up from your cpanel
Logged
szabcsee
Jammers
Hero Member
*
Posts: 115


« Reply #11 on: April 13, 2011, 05:05:05 am »

Hello Amjad!

I don't have cpanel, I have managed hosting and it is set up as the housekeeping cron runs properly... (or whatever the more frequent one called).
Logged
jaffri
Jammers
Sr. Member
*
Posts: 51


« Reply #12 on: April 13, 2011, 12:02:59 pm »

szabcsee,

Go into Admin and scroll down the left panel to the 3rd last group called "Info". Under Info you will find Cron Info.

This page will give you the full path (not URL) of the cron file that will end with "/cron/cron.php". You need to go into your hosting setup and create a cron job with loads this file at the interval that you decide.

On a related note, if you or anyone else is not too happy with their hosting environment and would like to switch to top notch cloud-hosting at very affordable rates, please contact me for more details.
Logged
szabcsee
Jammers
Hero Member
*
Posts: 115


« Reply #13 on: April 27, 2011, 03:21:51 pm »

Dear All,

It seems i find out the problem with my hourly cron.

It seems that the cron is set up properly with my hosting with the curl command.

The problem as you can read above is that it has not run for months.

Last Housekeep run: Wed, 27 Apr 2011 14:33:19 +0000 (run every minute)
Last Hourly run: Sun, 30 Jan 2011 16:05:45 +0000(run every hour)

My hosting provider said it is because the Hourly cron causes the SQL to time out. Anyone has any idea why can it happen?
Logged
fujipadam
Jammers
Sr. Member
*
Posts: 62


« Reply #14 on: May 11, 2011, 05:16:05 pm »

hmm how big is your mysql database? I wonder if its a load issue
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.046 seconds with 17 queries.