Jamit Software Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 20, 2018, 04:45:22 pm

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
May 27th, 2009 - Jamit Software Launches the forum today!
3,080 Posts in 791 Topics by 1,453,729 Members
Latest Member: ShariRehko
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  Jamit Software Forum
|-+  Jamit Job Board Customers
| |-+  Plugins
| | |-+  FORCE WWW
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: FORCE WWW  (Read 3831 times)
Peter
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 248



« on: April 23, 2011, 03:28:06 am »

Plugin Force WWW (formerly "Wrong Sever") forces correct server name in 3 ways: Forces server name to have OR not have WWW prefix. Prevents use of IP address in place of server name. Prevents DNS errors.

Most plugins by DEZZIGNZ require a license key which is validated against a server name. If your server can be accessed in both ways, with and without the WWW prefix, you need to use the Force WWW plugin!

Additionally, Force WWW is useful for:
  • SEO optimization
  • Security

Force WWW is available for purchase on Jamit Market. If you already own any plugin by DEZZIGNZ, you can get your Force WWW for FREE if you contact Colossal Mind.

Why is Force WWW plugin useful for SEO?

Google as well as all of the other major search engines frown upon duplicate content. What is duplicate content? It’s basically a situation where the same page of content can be accessed from different URLs. For example:  http://YourDomain.com and http://www.YourDomain.com. Let’s assume the both of these URLs link to the same page. Most web hosting services will allow both forms of the URL. However, this “duplicate content” on your website can significantly decrease your search engine ranking.



If you are lucky to have the Apache server, you can force your server name to be with or without WWW easily with a rewrite rule in .htaccess file. However, not everyone has Apache server, AND Force WWW has additional functions that cannot be achieved by the Apache rewrite rule alone.

I conclude that Force WWW is good to have for everyone! You should use the Apache rewrite rule as well as the Force WWW plugin.

To force www using .htaccess:
Code:
<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
Options +FollowSymLinks
RewriteEngine On
RewriteBase /
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^domain\.com [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.domain.com/$1 [R=301,L]
</IfModule>

To force without www using .htaccess:
Code:
<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
Options +FollowSymLinks
RewriteEngine On
RewriteBase /
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www\.domain\.com [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://domain.com$1 [R=301,L]
</IfModule>
« Last Edit: September 29, 2011, 05:08:26 am by Peter » Logged

SECURE your site BEFORE you wish you had! Use plugins by COLOSSAL MIND!
Peter
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 248



« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2011, 05:12:48 am »

Version 2.2.0 Force WWW is out!

Summary of changes and improvements:
  • Error page is in 13 languages. Language is detected automatically.

The plugin automatically detects visitor's language and shows the status message in 13 possible languages:
  • English
  • German
  • French
  • Spanish
  • Portugese
  • Czech
  • Russian
  • Japanese
  • Chinese simplified
  • Chinese traditional
  • Arabic
  • Dutch
  • Italian

Please update your plugin. If you need assistance, let me know.
Logged

SECURE your site BEFORE you wish you had! Use plugins by COLOSSAL MIND!
Peter
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 248



« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2011, 02:54:39 am »

Today released version 2.3.1 of Force WWW. Please read the notes below and update ASAP.

What's new in this version?

Force WWW does not require a license key, however, as stated in enclosed End-User License Agreement dated April 24, 2011, with each sale of Force WWW plugin "Licensor grants you the right to install and use one copy of the
SOFTWARE PRODUCT on one webserver and one domain name."

If you are using Force WWW on more than one website (server) but you paid for only one license, chances are that once you install version 2.3.1, the plugin will stop working on the unlicensed server. You may want to think twice before you install the update.

The good news, however, is that I offer discount on multiple licenses. If you need the second (third etc.) license, let me know and I will give you discount.

How to contact me and/or instantly receive the latest announcements?

Logged

SECURE your site BEFORE you wish you had! Use plugins by COLOSSAL MIND!
Peter
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 248



« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2012, 04:46:06 am »

Force WWW plugin is now FREE under GPL license.
Logged

SECURE your site BEFORE you wish you had! Use plugins by COLOSSAL MIND!
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.079 seconds with 17 queries.