Jamit Software Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
January 26, 2020, 11:13:06 pm

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
May 27th, 2009 - Jamit Software Launches the forum today!
3,080 Posts in 791 Topics by 1,604,531 Members
Latest Member: LiamMuscio
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  Jamit Software Forum
|-+  Jamit Job Board Customers
| |-+  User-to-User Support
| | |-+  Is it possible to add a favicon to the main page?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Is it possible to add a favicon to the main page?  (Read 2965 times)
david9850
Jammers
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


« on: April 01, 2010, 07:45:32 pm »

I wanted to add a favicon so it would show up on the browser navigation bar. Can't figure where to add it in the code. It needs to be between the <head> tags. I tried adding it to the index-header.php file. But still does not show up on the browser navigation bar.  Huh
Logged
Imran
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 255


WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2010, 07:19:47 am »

Yes it is possible to add, make sure you have added it properly check the spelling and syntax of the favicon TAG.
Also Remove any of your browser cache to see the changes.
Logged
lee
Jammers
Sr. Member
*
Posts: 86



WWW
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2010, 12:43:44 pm »

http://www.html-kit.com/favicon/-/include-i16c64/ use this link to make the favicon and full instructions are given to when you download the zip file
Logged
Peter
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 248



« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2010, 11:13:21 pm »

In the theme you are using, open the file index-header.php. Insert the following code just before the line $JBMarkup->head_close(); .

Code:

$JBMarkup->link_tag("shortcut icon", "/favicon.ico", "image/x-icon");

$JBMarkup->head_close();


I have mentioned the line $JBMarkup->head_close(); in the above example for clarity. No need to have it twice. You can also change the URL poitning to your favicon to suit your specific situation.

As you may know, favicon can also be a GIF, PNG, .... and even have a different name. But is is best to keep it in the root of your site and call it favicon.ico.
Logged

SECURE your site BEFORE you wish you had! Use plugins by COLOSSAL MIND!
Peter
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 248



« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2010, 11:35:20 pm »

The new plugin called ADSENSE MANAGER will insert the FAVICON into your page.

ADSENSE MANAGER also inserts Google Adsense and Google Analytics into your pages.
Logged

SECURE your site BEFORE you wish you had! Use plugins by COLOSSAL MIND!
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.022 seconds with 18 queries.