Jamit Software Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
June 27, 2019, 10:01:32 am

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
May 27th, 2009 - Jamit Software Launches the forum today!
3,080 Posts in 791 Topics by 1,536,016 Members
Latest Member: BrianneMku
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  Jamit Software Forum
|-+  Jamit Job Board Customers
| |-+  Configuration
| | |-+  One category is dependent from a second one - possible?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: One category is dependent from a second one - possible?  (Read 4366 times)
promotionbox.de
Jammers
Hero Member
*
Posts: 110



WWW
« on: July 16, 2009, 02:01:06 pm »

Hi,
I want to create two categories. The frist category tells me something about the body height of person maybe '173 cm'. The second category says this body height is '170-175 cm'. Is that possible? So when I choose the first category, the second choose the right range automatically.

Thanks for helping ideas,
Thorsten
Logged

---
promotion:box | clever. smart. friendly.
www.promotionbox.de
CompuDave
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 173



WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2009, 06:01:27 pm »

I think the best would be to create one category called Height and then list the different options ie. 150-155 ; 155-160 ; 160-165 ; 165-170 ; 170-175 ; etc
Logged
promotionbox.de
Jammers
Hero Member
*
Posts: 110



WWW
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2009, 06:19:06 pm »

Hi,
yes this is the easiest way. My problem is that I've a category with the accurate numbers. But when I want to use the search form I want to get a range between x and y as a result. Maybe this is possible to solve? A the moment my search form has only the category field and I can choose just one body height.

Best regards
Thorsten
Logged

---
promotion:box | clever. smart. friendly.
www.promotionbox.de
CompuDave
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 173



WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2009, 07:26:58 pm »

You just need to change the existing body heights you have. Instead of one height, you enter a range (Existing : "175") - (Change to : "170 - 175")
Logged
promotionbox.de
Jammers
Hero Member
*
Posts: 110



WWW
« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2009, 07:34:20 pm »

This is a good idea too. But I've a category with man body heights starting from 150 cm, 151 cm, 152 cm .... 199 cm, 200 cm, 201 cm up to 210 cm. If I follow your suggest I had to do a lot and it wouldn't be look good. What do you think?
Logged

---
promotion:box | clever. smart. friendly.
www.promotionbox.de
CompuDave
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 173



WWW
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2009, 11:43:21 am »

Maybe leave that category as is for now and amake a new category with the ranges. Make the first (existing category) optional and the new one compulsory (must be filled in). Then at a later time you can possibly remove the old category
Logged
promotionbox.de
Jammers
Hero Member
*
Posts: 110



WWW
« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2009, 02:11:50 pm »

Yes it makes sense...thank you, though I prefer a better solution.

Bye
Thorsten
Logged

---
promotion:box | clever. smart. friendly.
www.promotionbox.de
fujipadam
Jammers
Sr. Member
*
Posts: 62


« Reply #7 on: October 28, 2009, 03:48:05 pm »

I agree with you on the need for this - another example where this would be helpful would be select state  and the list of cities are auto filtered to the cities in that state. 
Logged
promotionbox.de
Jammers
Hero Member
*
Posts: 110



WWW
« Reply #8 on: October 28, 2009, 04:04:56 pm »

I agree with you on the need for this - another example where this would be helpful would be select state  and the list of cities are auto filtered to the cities in that state. 
..but it seems to complicated for the programmer to manage this....I think.
Logged

---
promotion:box | clever. smart. friendly.
www.promotionbox.de
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.135 seconds with 17 queries.